Our History

The Silver Tassie Hotel now owned and managed by Ciaran & Rose Blaney has taken its name from a well known hostelry in the Dublin area, where Mr Teddy Blaney (Ciaran’s father) had his first taste of the licensed trade back in the 1960’s.

Originally and now The Silver Tassie (also meaning “Silver Goblet”- a play by well known Irish playwright Sean O'Casey) was known as the “Halfway” it was then owned and managed by the local Boyce family since the last 1800’s. Mr Jack Boyce left the pub scene in the early 1980’s and Letterkenny Rugby Club became the new tenants, changing the name to the “Halfway House”.

 The Blaney Family purchased the premises in the late 1980’s and so began “The Silver Tassie” with the first bedrooms added in the 1990’s then in 2009 the current owners Ciaran & Rose Blaney added the stunning award winning Woodlands Banquet Suite and the increasingly popular boutique Seascape Spa.

Letterkenny Restaurant, Lounge & Bar

Dining in The Silver Tassie Hotel is a unique & enjoyable experience. Our family run Donegal restaurant, lounge & bar serve delicious food in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere with open fires & friendly service.

Read More